Tuesday, June 23, 2015

U of M Family Medicine Graduation 2015

Mac Baird, MD, and wife Kris
at our Photo Stop
University of Minnesota Family Medicine and Community Health held its annual resident and fellow commencement on June 2, 2015, at the McNamara Alumni Center on the University of Minnesota - Twin Cities campus in Minneapolis.

The event was catered by D'Amico & Sons, and music was provided by Four Voices String Quartet.

Fifty-four residents graduated from across our eight family medicine residency programs, along with fellows in sports medicine (two graduates), hospice and palliative medicine (three graduates), human sexuality (one graduate), and behavioral medicine (one graduate).

Twenty-five junior faculty and fellows also completed faculty development training in curriculum design, evaluation, and teaching skills. 

A number of family medicine residents and faculty were honored for excellence in teaching, research, and service.

Excellence in Research Award

The Excellence in Research Award was presented to St. Joseph's graduating resident Amanda Weinmann, MD, for a breast cancer screening modality, called molecular breast imaging. 

Weinmann's main roles on the research team were to develop methodologies to reduce patient exposure to radiation, improve image quality, and develop biopsy capability, allowing the imaging technique to be used for screening purposes. Throughout residency, she disseminated her research through peer-reviewed publications and national presentations.

"I was impressed with her ability to use resources wisely in conducting a background literature search to frame the problem, to use her computer programming skills to build a simulation model, and to apply scientifically sound judgement to thoroughly test and validate her design," said Carrie Hruska, PhD, associate professor of medical physics at Mayo Clinic, Rochester, "Ultimately, her design was manufactured and put into clinical use on the molecular breast imaging system. It was designed so well that it simultaneously improved our ability to visualize small breast lesions while also improving the sensitivity of the camera such that patient imaging could be conducted using a lower radiation dose."

Amanda Weinmann, MD

Faculty Awards

Two faculty were recognized for excellence in education of residents, medical students, and other health professionals: Phillip Fallt, MD, Affiliate Faculty Teacher of the Year, and Mark Yeazel, MD, MPH, Faculty Teacher of the Year.

Fallt is an affiliate faculty, teaching OB/GYN in the family medicine clinic to North Memorial residents. One nominator wrote that Fallt's "dedication goes beyond that of a preceptor," that he is "dedicated to the field of family medicine as a whole." 

Phillip Fallt, MD

Yeazel is faculty in our research area and at our North Memorial and University of Minnesota Medical Center residency programs. He also co-leads our faculty development training. Nominators said that Yeazel is "supportive, ready to teach, compassionate, deliberate, and thoughtful." 

Mark Yeazel, MD, MPH

Community Service Award

The Leonard P. Burke, MD, Memorial Award is given to the graduating resident whose family medicine training has resulted in a unique service contribution. St. Cloud's Jennifer Taves, MD, was honored for her work with Reach Out and Read

Under Taves watch, St. Cloud's residency clinic site distributed 250 to 300 books annually. 

The director of Reach Out and Read Minnesota, Lynn Burke, had this to say about Taves, "Her dedication, perseverance, and enthusiasm are the reason her clinic's program is thriving." 

Jennifer Taves, MD

STFM Resident Teacher Award

Nine residents from across our eight residency programs were presented the Society of Teachers of Family Medicine (STFM) Resident Teacher Award for demonstrated interest, ability, and commitment to family medicine.

Awardees included Jennifer Belisle, MD, Karen Borchert, MD, Stephen Clappier, MD, Alisha Fahley, MD, Scott Hanson, DO, Andrew Houghton, MD, Elycia Matushin, MD, and Jennifer Taves, MD.

STFM Resident Teacher Awardees


Duluth residency faculty, staff, residents

No comments:

Post a Comment